28 Weeks

1-Chloe 006Mommy Update: We finally registered for birth / baby care classes this past week.  I will officially be spending WAAAAY less time learning how to take care of the baby that I will be taking home from the hospital as a souvenir of this whole pregnancy thing than learning how to drive a car.  Good thing I spent all of those years babysitting – I’m sure it’s like riding a bike.  Or at least I hope it is.  I have officially recognized my first side effect of being pregnant.  According to the Googles I have rhinitis of pregnancy – basically my nose is stuffier than normal with no cold or allergies to blame it on.  So now, when people ask me how I’m feeling (after getting over their shock that I’m not due next month and that I am not having twins) I can honestly say I have a pretty stuffy nose.  Rough stuff.

Daddy Update: N has been working his bum off on yard work this week and has said he’d like for us to have the nursery done in two weeks.  I am super on board and can’t wait to check off that huge ‘to do’.  N has also been feeling bug move a lot more lately.  He’s pretty surprised by how much it has been, which is funny because I am definitely used to it by now and forget how noticeable the changes are when you’re not feeling it 24/7.

Baby Update: We had an ultrasound this week to make sure my mild case of placental previa cleared up.  It did, which wasn’t a surprise to anyone.  We by far got the best ultrasound pictures to date though, which was pretty cool.  Bug (as of mid last week) was weighing in at 2 lbs 14 oz and head and chest measurements were registering as 2 full weeks ahead of schedule.  The compare-your-fetus-to-food apps designate this week as eggplant week, which would be 1.5 – 2.2 lbs and 13.6 to 14.8 inches.  WAAAAY back at my first ultrasound they told us bug was 2 days ahead of schedule, so I guess everything just kept going.  My due date isn’t changing (still August 17th), because apparently figuring out due dates is most accurate at the beginning of pregnancy.  Bug was also “practice breathing” which is basically moving up and down the chest without actually breathing and this is a really good developmental sign.  In other developmental news, the brain is developing its folds and grooves (which sounds important, although I don’t know why) and muscle tone is continuing to improve (but I didn’t need an app to tell me that!)

1-SmithAnaliese20140522154618136

1-SmithAnaliese20140522160207965

1-SmithAnaliese20140522160109595

Missing Most/ Looking Forward To:  I miss being able to get outside and pull weeds.  I tried to do a few and I just don’t bend that way anymore.  I have been drinking Arnold Palmer’s this week, but it is not even a close substitute for a good beer.  Also I am looking forward to getting the nursery done and enjoying all of this wonderful weather!

1-Chloe 007

Leave a Reply

