21 Weeks

ImageMommy Update: I can’t believe we’re over halfway done!  I went shopping with my mom this Sunday and got the first few official things for baby, including a small swing and a diaper bag for N and another for myself, and a Baby Bjorn (which is a baby carrier situation).  I am also wearing more real maternity tops because I am getting a lot bigger.  Bug is moving a ton more, but it’s still in the “awww” stage, and not in the “oh my gosh I think I have a broken rib” stage.  I am craving fruit and sweets again.  We got a huge bag of Sour Patch Kids and I am working really hard on making them disappear.

Daddy Update: N felt Bug doing (what we can only assume were) somersaults one night this past week.  We also went car shopping and N test drove both the Nissan Rogue and the Honda CRV.  We still have the Subaru and the Mazda to try out next weekend before we make a decision.

Baby Update: Bug is now measured head to heel.  Depending on what your produce preferences are, that is either a carrot or a pomegranate.  In real terms, that is 10.5 inches and anywhere between 10.5 and 12.5 ounces.  Bug is also making blood using both the liver and the spleen.  The spleen will stop producing blood cells around week 30 whereas the liver will keep producing until a few weeks before birth.  I am thinking I didn’t pay enough attention in biology class.

Missing Most/ Looking Forward To: I am really starting to waddle and be the slightest bit off balance.  I was never mistaken for a graceful swan, but now I am really approaching baby giraffe crossed with lumbering elephant and I have a looooong ways to go.  During these next 20 weeks I am looking forward to stretchy pants.  A-maz-ing.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

